DJS Prelims Test Series

Delhi Judicial Services Exam – Eligibility, Exam Pattern and Syllabus

Check here, complete details of the Delhi Judicial Services Exam such as eligibility criteria, age limit, exam pattern, and syllabus. 


The High Court of Delhi conducts the Delhi Judicial Service Exam every year for the recruitment of Civil Judges. Delhi High Court invites online applications from eligible candidates for filling up vacancies in Delhi Judicial Service by holding Delhi Judicial Service Examination in two stages:

  1. Delhi Judicial Service Preliminary Examination, and
  2. Delhi Judicial Service Main Examination

Candidates shortlisted in mains exam are called for viva voce. Candidates who qualify in the last phase get selected for the posts offered by the High Court of Delhi. 

Judiciary exam or the PCS (J)-Provincial Civil Service-Judicial Examination is the entry-level exam for law graduates to become appointed as members of the subordinate judiciary. The members are appointed by the state government under the supervision of the respective high court. The members are appointed based on the Judiciary exam.


According to Delhi Judicial Services Exam eligibility criteria, a candidate shall appear in the examination if he/she is:

  • a citizen of India; 
  • a person practising as an Advocate in India or a person qualified to be admitted as an Advocate under the Advocates Act, 1961.
  • Must not be more than 32 years of age.

Please note: In the case of candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes/Tribes, the upper age limit is relaxable by 5 years. General category disabled candidates would thus be eligible for age relaxation up to 10 years and SC/ST category disabled candidates would be eligible for age relaxation up to 15 years.

Attempts Limit

The attempts are limited as per the age limit prescribed. 

  • The candidate must not be more than 32 years as on the examination date announced officially in that particular year.
  • For candidates who belong under the category of Scheduled Tribes/ Scheduled Castes, the maximum age limit is extended for five more years.
  • In the case of Ex-Servicemen, who have at least military service of 5 years, the maximum age limit is extended for five more years.


Apart from the backlog vacancies, fresh recruitments follow reservation as per SC-15%, ST-7.5% and OBC-27% provided. 

Exam Pattern

Delhi Judicial Service Examination is held in two successive stages:- 

  1. Delhi Judicial Service Preliminary Examination (Objective Type with 25% negative marking) for selection for the Main Examination, and 
  2. Delhi Judicial Service Main Examination (Written) for selection of candidates for calling for Viva-voce.

Minimum qualifying marks in the Preliminary Examination shall be 60% for General and 55% for Reserved Categories i.e. Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Persons with Disability. However, the number of candidates to be admitted to the Main Examination (Written) will not be more than Ten times the total number of vacancies of each category advertised.

The marks obtained in the Preliminary Examination by the candidates who are declared qualified for admission to the Main Examination (Written) will not be counted for determining their final order of merit.


Syllabus for Preliminary Examination

The Preliminary Examination will be a Screening Test and will consist of one paper of multiple objective type questions carrying a maximum of 200 marks.

 In the Preliminary Examination, questions on general knowledge and aptitude of the candidate, candidate’s power of expression, flair in English, knowledge of objective type legal problems and their solutions covering Constitution of India, Code of Civil Procedure, Criminal Procedure Code, Indian Penal Code, Contract Act, Partnership Act, Arbitration Law, Evidence Act, Specific Relief Act and Limitation Act will be included.

Syllabus for Mains Examination (Written) 

The Main Examination (Written) will include the following subjects (each subject to carry the number of marks shown against it):-

  1. General Knowledge and Language – 250 marks
  2. Civil Law-I- 200 marks
  3. Civil Law- II- 200 marks
  4. Criminal Law – 200 marks

1. General Knowledge and Language: This paper shall comprise two sections. 

Section I: General Knowledge: This is to test the candidate‟s knowledge of current affairs etc. (100 Marks)

Section II: Language (Essay, Translation and Precis Writing) : This is to test the candidate‟s knowledge and power of expression in English. Credit will be given both for substance and expression. Conversely, deduction will be made for bad expression, faults of grammar and misuse of words etc. There will be two passages for translation, one in English which will be required to be translated into Hindi (in Devnagri Script). The Second passage in Hindi (in Devnagri Script) shall be required to be translated into English. (150 marks).

2. Civil Law-I

Indian Contract Act, Indian Sale of Goods Act, Indian Partnership Act, Specific Relief Act, Hindu Law, Mohammedan Law, Delhi Rent Control Act and Law of Torts. (200 marks) 

3.Civil Law-II

Civil Procedure Code, Law of Evidence, Law of Limitation & Law of Registration. (200 marks).

4. Criminal Law

Criminal Procedure Code, Indian Penal Code & Indian Evidence Act. (200 marks) 

Law Library: Notes and Study Material for Judiciary and Entrance Exams

Official Link

Interested and eligible candidates can apply only through the ONLINE mode available at Delhi High Court website:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

you're currently offline

Scroll to Top
error: Alert: Content is protected !!